Here is a list of some prominent cybersecurity compliance standards and a brief definition for each:

  1. ISO/IEC 27001:
    • This international standard outlines the requirements for an Information Security Management System (ISMS). It provides a systematic approach to managing sensitive company information, ensuring its confidentiality, integrity, and availability.
  2. ISO/IEC 27002 (formerly ISO 17799):
    • This standard provides guidelines for implementing the controls specified in ISO/IEC 27001. It offers best practices for information security management and helps organizations establish an effective security framework.
  3. NIST SP 800-53 (USA):
    • Issued by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), this Special Publication provides a comprehensive catalog of security controls for federal information systems and organizations. It is widely adopted in the United States.
  4. NIST SP 800-171 (USA):
    • Specifically designed for non-federal entities that handle Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), this standard outlines security requirements to protect sensitive government information.
  5. PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard):
    • Developed by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council, this standard applies to organizations that process, store, or transmit credit card data. It sets requirements for protecting cardholder data and maintaining a secure payment environment.
  6. HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act):
    • This U.S. regulation sets standards for safeguarding Protected Health Information (PHI) and applies to healthcare providers, health plans, and clearinghouses.
  7. GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation):
    • Enforced by the European Union (EU), GDPR establishes data protection and privacy requirements for organizations that handle the personal data of EU citizens.
  8. SOC 2 (System and Organization Controls 2):
    • Developed by the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA), SOC 2 defines criteria for assessing the security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality, and privacy of systems used by service organizations.
  9. FISMA (Federal Information Security Modernization Act):
    • This U.S. federal law mandates information security standards for federal agencies to protect their data and information systems.
  10. CMMC (Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification):
    • Created by the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD), CMMC is used to assess and enhance the cybersecurity posture of contractors and suppliers that work with the DoD.
  11. GLBA (Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act):
    • This U.S. regulation requires financial institutions to protect the privacy and security of customers’ non-public personal information.
  12. FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standards):
    • Issued by NIST, FIPS provides standards and guidelines for federal agencies to ensure the security and interoperability of computer systems.

These standards help organizations establish a strong security foundation and comply with relevant regulations specific to their industry or geographical location. It’s essential for organizations to carefully assess their requirements and implement the relevant standards to safeguard their information and protect their customers’ data. Keep in mind that the cybersecurity landscape evolves, and new standards or updates to existing ones may emerge over time.